Monday, February 25, 2008

Four Levels of Maturity: Adulthood, Part 1

Physical Adults

Today we’ve reached the final and deepest level of maturity: adulthood. It is also possibly the hardest one to describe, since it has more diversity than the other levels in many ways.

For whereas the other levels carry common factors like physical development that affect the methods of learning, adulthood is mostly complete in growth and what remains is mostly specialized growth that will vary from person to person.

Yet those are the very things that characterize adulthood: diversity, choices, and an emphasis on maintenance more than growth. No longer do adults depend on others for their knowledge as much as others now depend on them.

Spiritual Adults

Although learning is a life-long process which no one outgrows, the mature Christian is now looked upon as the teacher and mentor rather than the student.

This brings both new choices and extra responsibilities. Mature Christians know their limitations and are no longer completely dependent on others’ instructions/advice. However, others now depend on them for guidance.

The result?

A widely diversified group of servants—discerning people mature enough to serve as Christ served, rather than demanding to be served. And ultimately, is this not the best—and only—true test of maturity?

No comments: